St. George Antiochian Orthodox Church

كنيسة القديس جاورجيوس للروم الانطاكيين الارثوذكس

Upland- California - ابلند - كاليفورنيا

The saints and the angels are an important part of the Orthodox church. Since the Church is the Body of Christ, it comprises the living and the dead. The living are the faithful who are striving to follow Christ in righteousness in order to receive the crown of victory. The dead are divided into the ones whom God and the Church have recognized them as victorious and already glorified with Christ and able to intercede for the living, and the departed who have died faithful to Christ and to the Orthodox Faith but who still in need of purification and healing in order to be able to be with Christ, those need the prayers of the living and of the glorified saints. All baptized Orthodox Christian are named after a saint, and so the name day is celebrated beside the birthday.

The saints are divided into six main categories:

  1. The Apostles
  2. The Prophets
  3. The Martyrs
  4. The Fathers & Hierarchs
  5. The Monastics
  6. The Just

The Martyrs like
St. Euphemia

The Monastics like
St. Antonios The Great

In Iconography, the Saints are depicted in a certain way holding things in their hand and wearing garments in chosen colors reflecting their holiness and their waiy of life on earth.

On each day of the year the church commemorates few saints some are common, and some are commemorated locally however all belong to the same Catholic Orthodox Church.

For more information on the saints of the day and of the saints in general we suggest few sites: